Significance of chaitra navratri 2021 and Nine Forms of Goddess Durga

Significance of chaitra navratri 2021 and Nine Forms of Goddess Durga

Navratri is one of the most awaited festivals in India. There come two navratri dates in Hindu calendar. One that falls in the month of Sep-Oct (Shardiya Navratri) and the other that falls in March-April (Chaitra Navratri).

During nine auspicious nights, devotees worship Goddess Durga and Her nine avatars. Even Indian diasporas rejoice the occasion with great zeal and zest! Celebration includes daily pooja and observance of fast for nine long days.

In 2021, Chaitra Navratri will begin on 13th April and conclude on 22nd April.

List of Navratri puja items

Navratri Puja Items

If you are planning to perform Durga Puja or Navratri Pooja at home, you need below given items.

  • Durga sapthashati book
  • Goddess Durga Idol or picture of Durga
  • Chunri
  • Kalash with fresh water, mango leaves, coconut and flowers.
  • Fruits
  • Flowers
  • Asan (altar) to place the idol
  • Dhoop
  • Cloves, gulal, sindoor, cardamom
  • Roli, rice, moli
  • beetlenut (supari), paan, panchpatra

You can get these items in Durga Puja Box exclusively created by My Pooja Box.

Chaitra Navratri 2021 Pooja Vidhi

Navratri Puja Procedure

Chaitra navratri pooja vidhi begins with planting the seeds of wheat in soil spread beneath a water-filled earthen pot. The altar is set just behind it and the idol or picture of Goddess Durga is placed on it.

Till nine days, devotees water the soil bed and worship Goddess Durga with all the above-said puja items. Some recite the Durga Saptshati and Durga Stuti to seek divine blessings.

Nine Avatars of Goddess Durga

People worship nine manifestations of Maa Durga for nine auspicious days.

Day 1- Shailaputri Pooja

Maa Shailaputri

Day one is dedicated to Goddess Shailaputri. She carries Trishul and Lotus. She rides on Nandi bull and is also called ‘Sati’.

Day- 2- Brahmacharini Pooja

Maa Brahmacharini

The second day of Chaitra Navratri is for Goddess Brahmacharini puja. She carries rudraksha mala and a sacred kamandal in her hands. She is seen in meditating form and wears white ensemble.

Day-3- Chandraghanta Pooja

Maa Chandraghanta

She is the third manifestation of Goddess Durga. Her adulation rewards the devotees with courage and bravery. Her grace eradicates all the sufferings. Tiger is Her vehicle and her forehead is decked with a crescent moon tilak.

Day- 4- Kushmanda Pooja

Maa Kushmanda

The fourth day observes Goddess Kushmanda’s adulation. She bestows her worshippers with good health, wealth and strength.

Day-5- Skanda Mata Pooja

Maa Skandmata

The fifth avatar is of Goddess Skanda Mata. She has four arms and Her vehicle is a lion. She is seen in blessing position and holds lotus, kamandal and bell in Her hands.

Day-6- Mata Katyayani Pooja

Goddess Katyayani

The sixth observes the adulation of Goddess Durga’s sixth form- Katyayani. In shaktism, she is regarded as the fierce form of Shakti. She is associated with red color.

Day-7- Kalaratri Pooja

Maa Kalaratri

The seventh form of Navdurga is known as Kalaratri. She is the fiercest form and is in the destroyer form. Worshipping Her destroys negativity, ghosts, negative spirits and energies.

Day-8-Mahagauri Pooja

Goddess Mahagauri

The seventh day is for adulating Goddess Mahagauri. She is seen in white ensemble and rides a white bull. She is pure and is considered being in the form of Goddess Parvati.

Day-9- Siddhidatri Pooja

Goddess Siddhidatri

On Maha Navami or ninth day, devotees worship the ninth avatar of Navdurga- Goddess Siddhidatri. She is believed to eradicate ignorance and bestow her devotees with knowledge and wisdom.

The navratri festival concludes with kanya puja in which those who observe the fast, feed nine little girls and provide them with treats and goodies.

Back to blog